The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Help for newbie with training a green. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/help-newbie-training-green-84415/)

Repti 04-20-2011 05:08 AM

Help for newbie with training a green.

Hi,

I am fourteen years old, and have been riding a little bit. I know all ‘horsey’ terms inside out, as I am literally obsessed with horses. (the old story!)

My problem is I have been out the saddle a while ‘cause there really expensive. I think I get along okay with horses, I’m pretty confident, not afraid of falling of, can groom, muck out, you know, the basics.

Now I am not very experienced, I do have a lot of learning to do, but there is a gorgeous just turned 3yr old 14.2hh new forest x chestnut filly that’s for loan just a walk away from my house.

The lady who owns her just wants somebody to do some basic schooling and training with her. I don’t know what you all think?

I would love to do this, I have got bucketful’s of determination and patience. But how would I go about it? What are the basics for schooling a filly?

Just want some opinions. Thanx! :-)

Back In The Saddle 04-20-2011 06:04 AM

Hi there!

I think the best advice I was ever given was to never EVER rush these things...you obviously have a heap of enthusiasm and thats so great but just be careful not to bite off too much to start with! Young horses are a lot of work and all the confidence in the world will only get you so far with training them...the best thing you could do is get back into it with a horse with a bit more experience and then move on from there. Its not a case of being scared, or not scared, or confident etc its more that you would hate to get a young horse who will be looking to you for guidance and for you not to know how to guide.

Theres no rush honey! Its a life time love by the sounds of it so you have plenty of years to enjoy the rewards that come with educating a young horse.

xx