The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   Colour and genetic rules (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/colour-genetic-rules-85359/)

manca 04-30-2011 05:21 PM

Colour and genetic rules

Sorry if there are any threads about this, but I couldn't find it.
Is there any thread or site that explains which colour a foal can be, depending on his parent's colour?
You can't get a palomino out of a black horse, can you?

Lis 04-30-2011 05:26 PM

You can if the black horse is hetrozygous for the black gene and carries red so it would be Ee and is bred to an ee (chestnut) carrying a dilute gene or anothe Ee horse that's carrying a dilute gene.

manca 04-30-2011 05:35 PM

Amm, this sounds a bit complicated to me. I'm totally new to this topic.
I just gave the example, it's not that I'm breeding or something, but I am interested in this colour stuff.
Hetrozygous means not dominate gene? How could I know if some horse is hetrozygous?

Lis 04-30-2011 06:14 PM

Hetrozygous means it carries different alleles (variations of a gene) so in this case the base colour of any horse is red (ee) or black (Ee or EE). Hetrozygous means different (more or less), homozygous means same so a chestnut horse is homozygous for ee but a black can homozyous (EE) or hetrozygous (Ee) as black is dominant to red as red is the recessive gene. You would only know if you genetically tested or bred to a horse that was homozygous for the recessive gene so say you bred your black horse to a chestnut. If your black was homozygous for black it could never produce a chestnut foal but if it was hetrozygous there's a 25% chance it will produce a chestnut foal.

Poseidon 04-30-2011 07:09 PM

Color Calculator Here's a fun calculator if you want to figure out colour possibilities.