The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Becoming an accomplished rider in a year? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/becoming-accomplished-rider-year-85424/)

Vindicated 05-01-2011 12:29 PM

Becoming an accomplished rider in a year?

Hi everyone!
I'm new to riding, although I've been around horses most of my life, and I'm planning on now riding around 3-4 times a week for a year. I ask this as my dad joined the mounted branch of the police when he was around 37 year old, and he went from a complete novice to an accomplished rider in just under 3 months time, however he was doing it 8 hours a day!

I'm lucky to have access to free riding as my dad and his friends have horses, but I will continue pay for lessons with a private instructor at least once a week on a saturday.
I'm not looking to be a perfect rider in a year, but I'd like to have the ability to be able to start jumping.

Best regards:-)

Stoddard 05-01-2011 01:46 PM

At the barn I rode at, she usually won't let you be a competitive jumper until at least two years into riding if you started from nothing. It may be possible, though. Just work hard and listen to your trainer and you'll be jumping pretty well in no time.

Ray MacDonald 05-01-2011 02:27 PM

I think you can become a good rider in a year. You just have to work really hard, especially on flat work! Good luck!

kitten_Val 05-01-2011 05:12 PM

It very much depends on what you mean by "accomplished rider". I call "accomplished" when the person can ride different horses correctly in the discipline of choice. It takes quite a bit of time. BTW, "jumping" doesn't mean person jumps correctly, and I've seen it on local shows and videos plenty of times.

Citrus 05-01-2011 05:37 PM