The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   How do you know a trainer is good? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/how-do-you-know-trainer-good-85716/)

Moonstruck 05-04-2011 04:56 PM

How do you know a trainer is good?

As a beginner I cannot point out the red flags when being trained or when looking for a trainer. So how do you know if your trainer is teaching you correctly?

I am inquiring about a trainer in my area and I've sent her an email so that she can train me to ride. So how can I tell that she is a good rider?

You tell me! :-)
Saskia Tau Equestrian Training

MyLittleHunter 05-04-2011 05:32 PM

I've had some nasty expierences with bad trainers, so you definitely want to keep an out for some key warnings.

Here are a few things to look for,

Good trainer:

*clean barn
*well cared for horses
*patient
*knowledgeable
*Encouraging, but not coddling when instructing. You want someone who will help you improve, not say you're perfect, or make you feel worthless.
*safe environment
*others seem happy with them

Bad trainer:

*dirty barn
*dangerous environment
*puts you down, or screams and rants often. Or they coddle you and treat you like a complete baby.
*horses that don't look health or well cared for
*horse seemed frightened of the trainer
*Has the 'I'm right because I said so, I don't need a reason' attitude.
*others don't seem happy, or seem afraid of the trainer