The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Jumping a younger green horse (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/jumping-younger-green-horse-85839/)

ErikaLynn 05-06-2011 09:58 AM

Jumping a younger green horse

I started riding a green Thoroughbred and he is doing really well. I started taking him over ground poles and small cross rails. He is very brave and goes anything that is in front of him.

Now, I'm afraid that I am not riding him correctly, and that I might hit him in the mouth or hurt his back...and then make him afraid to jump. I tried riding a two point all the way to the jump, so I would stay off his back and let him figure out his own spot, but when I did that he takes really long spots. If I ride him how I normally ride, and wait for the jump to get in my two point, he takes off when I stand up..and doesn't take such a long spot. I don't hit him in the mouth when I ride normally, but I'm afraid that he may jump weird or take a long spot, then I'll hit him the mouth and bounce on his back, therefor making him sour to jumping.

Am I just being too cautious? Or is there anything I should or should not be doing when training a green horse to jump?

Strange 05-06-2011 11:36 AM

It sounds like you're progressing well so far with him.

Perhaps it's just me, but I've noticed that greener horses (to jumping) tend to be more comfortable jumping a little off the base, that is slightly long. Not all green horses, by any means, but a good number that I've worked with. I don't see a problem with you riding him up to the correct spot at the base. It will help him to feel more comfortable with this take off spot. If you're worried about bumping him in the mouth or bouncing on his back just grab some mane. It'll keep your hands in one place and will help remind you to stay off his back in the landing.

raywonk 05-06-2011 02:09 PM