The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Space, boundaries and trust (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/space-boundaries-trust-85860/)

mayflyaway 05-06-2011 03:32 PM

Space, boundaries and trust

Hi there,

First - background. I've got a rescued 12-15 year old arab gelding - no training until I came along. Been working with him since the end of February, and he can now be caught, haltered, and led by the 4-Hers, lunges nicely, lets me brush him all over, doesn't kick any more and even lets me pick up his feet at this point. I've been developing a bond with him and he is very sweet and wants to please me!

Me - I've been riding on my own since about 2 years old, have worked with racehorses, broke my last horse and have used a variety of natural horsemanship methods along with classic methods of horse training - sacking out, driving, etc. to break and train. Last horse, also an arab, responded really well to my mixed approach, and now does dressage with my mom.