The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Any Jumpers out there wanna share some advice? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/any-jumpers-out-there-wanna-share-86588/)

JamieLeighx 05-14-2011 04:15 PM

Any Jumpers out there wanna share some advice?

Well Im wanting to start advancing in height because my trainer says that I have pretty much perfected my position and the only thing I need to remember is to keep my darn heels down!
My trainer is off at the minute because of bad arthritis so if anyone has any excercises or advice/tips to help me out I would be very grateful :)
Also does anyone have any excercises I could yous to supple up Dealer and get him goin?

JamieLeighx 05-14-2011 04:47 PM

anybody?

Iseul 05-14-2011 06:24 PM

What I did for my heels helped me a lot when I started riding more. I would stand on the stair case (any step works) and hold my heels off the edge and keep them there for 10-15-20-etc seconds until I could keep them down easily for a minute or two. It really stretched my calf muscles out and made it easier for me to keep my heels down, since thy use to be even with the ball of my foot in the stirrups. My heels naturally went down for the most part after I was ableto hold them down atleast a minute doing what I suggested above, now my heels are always down and I don't have to pay attention to them at all.
As for the jumping, I won't comment too much, because I only ride western and don't jump above 1 foot..and I'd probably say something wrong :p lol
Good luck though.(:
Posted via Mobile Device

BlondieHorseChic 05-14-2011 06:28 PM

Heres something to do to work on your heels.