The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Show Clothing (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-show-clothing/)
-   -   Trouble finding show apparel... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-show-clothing/trouble-finding-show-apparel-87058/)

Crystal09 05-20-2011 01:29 PM

Trouble finding show apparel...

Hey guys,
So I have decided to do some dressage show's this summer but I'm having a hard time figuring out what to wear. I know what I need but I'm having a hard time figuring out what brands are show quality but not super expensive (I'm a broke college student on a budget).
I found these breeches at Dover Saddlery Dover Saddlery | Riding Sport™ High Waist Full Seat Riding Breeches. would these be good enough? Do you have any brands you suggest?
I'm also having a hard time with sizing. I don't really have any tack stores near my house were I can go to try anything on so I was wondering if anyone could give me a general idea for sizing. I'm 5'8" 125lbs and i usually wear like a 3/4 in jeans and a 2 or a small in shirts.
and does anyone know a good place to look for preowned show jackets and boots? I've tried tacktrader and ebay without much luck, I can't seem to find anything in my size. I just don't have the money to buy anything new right now.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Crystal

gigem88 05-20-2011 01:40 PM

There's a lot of stuff on ebay or you can try www.tacktrader.com. I've found some good stuff at reasonable prices. Good luck!

upnover 05-21-2011 11:26 AM

With breeches the size is your waist measurement. I'm a size 4 in most stores (Gap, Banana Republic, Limited, etc) and I like my breeches to fit just a touch loose. Depending on the brand I'm about a size 26 but I like to buy 28s. In ariats I'm more of a 26. Being 5"8 and only 125 you may need to buy a "long" size if they offer one.