The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Advice on riding an old horse? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/advice-riding-old-horse-87185/)

Spirit11 05-22-2011 01:05 AM

Advice on riding an old horse?

So the horse I ride, and my soon be owning, is a 30 year old Morgan mare named Spirit. I actually think she may be a Morgan/Arab cross. Now I've been getting mixed advice on how much to ride her and how hard. Some people tell me she should only be doing super light riding at her age, and others tell me that I should just go for it, she'll tell me if I'm pushing too hard.

She dropped weight after I started riding her on a regular basis. She hadn't been ridden in two years before we got her. We had the vet come out and he said there was nothing to worry about. When we first got her she was chubby with almost no muscle tone. He said that whats happening now is shes tightening up and building muscle again from regular riding. He said we were feeding her right and she's in awesome shape for her age, beside her teeth, which are pretty bad.

Now this little old lady can GO, lol, and I love to go fast too. I think she would lope/canter/gallop the entire time if I let her. We've just been riding trails and in open fields. Some of the area is pretty hilly, but she seems to love it, and will take even the steepest hill at a run. She sweats a lot, but the vet says she's just out of shape, so that happens. I've been teaching her everything in voice commands. Lol all I have to say is "Lets go!" and she's off at a full gallop.

Does anyone have advice about riding old horses? Am I working her too hard? We go out about every other day for a couple hours. I've never once had to force her to go faster or to keep going, usually its the opposite, I'm the one saying enough already lol.