The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   I've lost all my confidence with jumping. Please help? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/ive-lost-all-my-confidence-jumping-88441/)

Mrsorsehoe 06-06-2011 04:40 PM

I've lost all my confidence with jumping. Please help?

I'm 18 and I've been riding for 5 years now and have gone to 4 different riding schools and have once a week lessons. The one I got to is amazing and I have the best instructor ever but that's not the problem. When I was a proper beginner and learning to ride the second riding school I went to was brilliant and I learnt how to do basic riding there and even had 1 jump, just 1 jump, to let me get the feel of jumping, but then I had a break for a couple of months. When I started riding again that school had unfortunately closed down so I started going to another one which my old riding instructor had recommeneded. I used to think it was a really good school but now that I look back I realises that it definately wasn't the best school to go to and is probably the reason why I'm having issues now. When I went there basically all we did was very simple dressage moves (basically 20m circles and paried dressage) and then jumping. Now I know that it was good for me to learn the dressage moves, but I was never taught how to leg yield there and get the horse to curve etc. and all the horses and ponies were really old (No offence but they were completely dead to any sort aid whether leg or whip). The real issue is that basically on my 2nd or thir lesson there there was this small (like 1ft) course of jumps and I was told to go round it. At this point I had never been taught to canter and basically the horse I was on took me around it and I would say I had moderate control but I was also thankful I had amazing balance then. This litlle trip around the jumping course happened for another couple of months. About 5-6 months after I started riding the