The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   First Time Leaser: Tips, Suggestions and Must Haves! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/first-time-leaser-tips-suggestions-must-90249/)

miniheart 06-28-2011 07:37 PM

First Time Leaser: Tips, Suggestions and Must Haves!

I've just about had it with not having a horse of my own to ride. I sold my last horse because he wasn't the right fit for me. I take lessons a few times a week for 4hr sessions. I'd say I'm a beginner still though with being fairly comfortable at the trot.

Anyways, I decided I wanted a horse again but don't like the winters we have here and keeping a horse through winter is not only expensive but dangerous and I don't want to do it. So my idea was leasing for the Summer/Fall months and give the horse back in October or November.

Now I have found a gelding, 22yrs old, trail horse his whole life and his owner has 2 colts to train and she is looking for a semi-retirement home for her gelding over the summer and fall months to let her focus on the colts. She wants a contract, as do I and am awful with laws and regulations so I'm nervous about screwing up the contract.