The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Lessons on Stallions? (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/lessons-stallions-90650/)

Shenandoah 07-02-2011 06:33 PM

Lessons on Stallions?

So my main riding instructor is going away for a few months. I'm thinking about using the opportunity to take some lessons on a schoolmaster, so that I can really focus on my own body, without worrying so much about what my boy is doing.
One of the places I found uses their stallions for lessons. Would you consider it? Do you think this would be a good or bad thing? Or indifferent?

As for me, I'm a beginner in Dressage, but I've been riding about 27 years, and have owned my own horses about 20 years. But stallions still intimidate me :lol:

VelvetsAB 07-02-2011 07:42 PM

I don't know why people tag stallions as "bad", when some of them can be as well or better behaved then a mare or gelding.

If they are in a lesson program, they would most likely be well behaved animals. If you aren't sure, ask if you can watch a lesson that they are being used in, so you can see, in person, how they are.

I could really care less if it was a mare, a stallion or a gelding. What matters is that its a well behaved horse.
Posted via Mobile Device

Shenandoah 07-02-2011 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VelvetsAB (Post 1084206)
I don't know why people tag stallions as "bad", when some of them can be as well or better behaved then a mare or gelding.

I don't tag them as "bad" - I'm just intimidated by them. Mostly due to my lack of exposure to them.
I've only really known one, and as much of a sweetheart as he was, I know his owner was still VERY cautious about who handled him.

Thanks for the thoughts. I might go ahead and give her a call to schedule a time to watch a lesson.

Sophie19 07-02-2011 08:08 PM