The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/)
-   -   wanting to teach a mini donkey how to drive (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/wanting-teach-mini-donkey-how-drive-90890/)

tbstorm 07-05-2011 04:22 PM

wanting to teach a mini donkey how to drive

hi, my little cousin just got a mini donkey, his name is kickers :P
she wanted a pony to ride but instead grandma got her kickers. She is a little put out because she cant ride him, so i told her we could teach him to drive a cart, but i've never done that before. Where do i get started and how do i train him? if anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated. We have the harness and cart from our miniature pony and they're the same size ( it would work for him right?).

any help would be great thanks!

jimmy 07-06-2011 01:19 PM

yes just the very same as training a pony to drive[usually the donkey is easier] best of luck

tbstorm 07-11-2011 11:12 AM

thanks, but i didn't actually teach my pony how to drive. So im kind of new at this, i know how to drive and everything but i need help on getting him to that point!

GoWithTheFlow 07-11-2011 03:35 PM

She has a "Ask Merideth" page so give her a email . Othervise same way you trian a horse/pony ,but take your time and lots of patience .:)
Lucky Three Ranch - Knowledge and educational materials about mules, donkeys and longears.

tbstorm 07-11-2011 03:46 PM

that looks good! ill look into it thanks!

ilovemyPhillip 07-15-2011 10:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
You can start by basic ground work.. Haltering, leading, lunging, manners. Donks are more stubborn than horses.

Then, you can drive him from the ground.