The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Round pen work (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/round-pen-work-90954/)

SEAmom 07-06-2011 08:15 AM

Round pen work

I apologize if this seems like a stupid question, but here goes anyway.

For the first time I'm at a barn with a round pen. I've never used one before and would like to do so whenever possible, so I don't have to share the arena with the lesson people.

Since I've never used one, my horse has never been in one either. He can't be ridden yet, so I can only do ground work. I'm assuming I can lunge him, but do I still need a lunge line? He can lunge without the line in an arena setting. What else can I do with him in there?
Posted via Mobile Device

candandy49 07-06-2011 09:10 AM

If you know your horse will free lunge, sans lunge line by all means free lunge in the round pen, but you might intialy use a lunge line to get the voice commands set in motion before free lunging in the round pen.

How young is your horse? If he is old enough to start getting him accustomed to being bitted up? You could maybe put a training surcingle on him.

Just spending time in the close proximity with your horse can help build on a relationship of trust and respect from your equine friend.

Cherie 07-06-2011 10:17 AM

My advice -- do not use the round pen a lot. It is a boring and counter-productive place to be with a young horse. If he longes on a line -- that is much better. Horses learn very quickly to use the round pen fence as the perimeter and boundry. They learn to depend and 'lean' on it. They become very unmanageable without it. They can become very difficult to work in the open when they have spent too much time in a round pen.

We are now seeing more and more horses that are round pen sour and round pen dependant.

SEAmom 07-06-2011 11:08 AM

I would only use it when there are lessons and until their outdoor arena is finished with the upgrade.