The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Nightmare thrush! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/nightmare-thrush-91034/)

BossMare781 07-07-2011 02:01 AM

Nightmare thrush!

Ok, here it goes. My 21 year old gelding who I have owned for 10 years now got thrush a few months ago. He's never had it before and neither has my mare so I'm new to dealing with this personally. I live in Ohio and it's been especially rainy this year and he's been moved to a stall with horrible drainage problems (don't get me started on that), so I'm thinking this has been a big part of the cause.

I've been researching thrush and different treatment options and would love to hear some opinions on what works best. I've had his feet trimmed (the farrier didn't take off enough of the infected area in my opinion, left flaps that trap moisture so working on trying to find a new farrier), scrubbed his feet with Dawn soap and hot water and used Thrush Buster. It was looking better, his hooves were starting to harden up again - and then the owner of the barn where I board decided it was a good idea to turn him out in the muddiest pasture there, mud halfway up his legs everyday for at least a week or two even after I had asked her to stop. Usually I beg her to let him out and she never does, now that I ask her not to she does constantly (and all the sawdust being delivered has been damp on top of that). So his feet couldn't dry out at all during this time and now they look their worst. I'll try to get some pics tomorrow, but his frog is just falling apart and is almost not there it's so soft, same thing for the grooves/sulcus.