The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   How HIGH can a horse jump? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/how-high-can-horse-jump-91424/)

tralsmith 07-11-2011 10:39 AM

How HIGH can a horse jump?

Ok - so I've been riding for 40 years, and teaching and training for 20. I have always based a horses' "jump" on his athletic abilities, scopiness, etc. I've seen the solid, 2'6" packers that can stretch to 3' but are better suited to the 2'6" job. I've seen Gran Prix jumpers that "warm up" over the 5' oxers.

So, imagine my surprise when a new trainer at our barn told several people that a horse can jump "as high as their withers". I'm trying to wrap my head around it. I don't doubt that most horses can - but I would also hazard a guess that most can't do it consistently. What good does it do you to have one really good 5' jump in that huge horse (that clocks around like a gem at 3') if he can only do it once....or pulls a tendon straining to do the 5' for you?

I'm just bamboozled. I've never heard it before - and wondered if I've missed something in all these years! Not saying it isn't true - but I am wondering if this is something new I need to learn!!! LOL....you can't teach an old dog new tricks........or can you?!!? :D

ErikaLynn 07-11-2011 10:55 AM

So the trainer said horses can only jump as high as their withers? I've seen small ponies jump way higher then their withers and I've seen huge horses jump as high as 7 feet.

These horses are jumping higher then their withers...

http://www.thegreathorse.com/blog/wp...ping-horse.jpg

http://lizditz.typepad.com/i_speak_o...ssance4web.jpg

natisha 07-11-2011 11:16 AM

Oldies but goodies

tralsmith 07-11-2011 11:17 AM