The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   Question about his speed?? (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/question-about-his-speed-91662/)

DustyDiamond 07-13-2011 04:17 AM

Question about his speed??

Okay so I have had my horse since the very beginning of April and I started riding him in gymkhana right away. I jumped from Open Division straight to 4th Division right away but I was wondering how do I get him to, I don't know how to put it, like his full potential because I know at one point he was a 1st and 2nd division horse, he still has that in him and I know he can do that I was just wondering what I can do to reach that goal. I'll give you a little bit of information on him.

He is Arabian and Saddle bred.
Been barrel racing since he was 3 (he is now 12)
Once he gets in the show ring he is ready to go so he knows what he's doing!!
He is very good at pole bending.
He turns on a dime.

I dont use a crop, over-n-under, etc. on him and I don't kick him on the way "home" because I heard that shortens their stride.

Right now I am trying to just focus on beating my old times instead of competition.

Any tips or anything would be awesome! :D

Saddlebag 07-13-2011 09:15 AM

I used to find that by merely raising the end of the crop about 6" inspired more speed. I didn't even tap the horse, as she'd see it move. If you are gaming a lot have you considered that your horse may be sore?

Spastic_Dove 07-13-2011 09:18 AM

Is he properly conditioned or are you starting him back on speed events after some time off?

Horsesdontlie 07-13-2011 12:58 PM

Honestly for a lot of it, the time is almost always made up in the turns. I have a horse that can be pretty quick and runs harder and faster than a lot of my competition, but he has a slow barrel turn. Hence I get 4-5th division times because I don't have the turns down as well as the people running the 1-2 division.