The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   New to Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/new-horse-grooming-92069/)

KeroKero 07-16-2011 11:09 PM

New to Horse Grooming

Hello everyone, I am a first time horse owner with a paint horse who is mostly white and very dirty!

I have been reading alot how you can use human shampoos and conditioners, and it seems like the general consensus is Baby shampoo is the safest way to go? I've never used that before, will it still get a filthy horse white?

Do you wash a horse like you'd wash a dog, that is, lathering the shampoo from the top of the back down? I also understand you should spray the feet with water first to prevent them from spooking?

Am I using human conditioner all over the horses body as well, and rinsing it out like you would with your own hair? Is it okay to leave conditioner in the mane, then braid it? I'd really like to grow out his mane.

Also, this may be a silly question, but when brushing him with the curry comb, it really gets filthy! I tried to clean it off with my soft bristled brush, but that just made both brushes dirty instead! How do you guys clean your curry combs in between strokes? Maybe he is just dirtier than usual.

Oh, also, how do I get as much dirt out as possible while bathing him? Am I using the curry comb with the soap and water?

Thanks everyone!

Stakie 07-16-2011 11:25 PM

I use suave or mane n tail. I use two brushes and a handmit. I wash my curry comb after I use it but not during. I usually brush him off before I ride with the curry comb.. then he gets hosed down. I like getting the horse wet before he gets shampoo in his fur and mane. I then lather up the mit and go at it. No particular order really. I really like the mit because I can scrub around his hooves where all the mud sticks.

DejaVu 07-16-2011 11:55 PM