The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Posting (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/posting-92202/)

HorseLoverHunter 07-18-2011 10:27 AM

Posting

Okk... so when I post, it seems like I come out to much. I have no clue why. Here is a video. please comment and I will always except advise. No rude comments please. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFPhpzWSebU Thanks. :D

eclaire23 07-18-2011 10:37 AM

Tighten your reins your flopping everywhere lol looked like you where really far back in your seat- Im not an expert but thats my suggestions =D

Spastic_Dove 07-18-2011 10:40 AM

bsms 07-18-2011 10:52 AM

I'm pretty inexperienced, so take this with a grain of salt:

My daughter tends to post the way you do. In her case, she is riding a saddle that is too big for her - which is because she has to share a saddle with the adults in the household and insists on only riding western. Western saddles for small Arabians are hard to find, and the only one we've found so far is a 16" seat.

When you ride, gravity wants to place your feet so the stirrup straps hang straight down. That is the normal place for your feet to go, and anywhere else is a fight against gravity. Meanwhile, your rump seeks the lowest spot in the saddle - gravity again. If the saddle is too big, then gravity is trying to put your feet out in front of your rump - the 'chair seat'.

When riding with a long leg, a chair seat doesn't hurt you much. Your leg just angles a bit forward. However, when riding with shorter stirrups, your leg forms an upside down L. When you post, you naturally want to balance above the stirrup, and the only way that can happen is for your butt to come forward...and since the stirrups are not going to go down, that means your butt has to go up - way up.