The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Forward Moving :( (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/forward-moving-93700/)

HorseyCharli123 08-01-2011 12:39 AM

Forward Moving :(

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner and I'm learning on an amazing school horse but I'm having trouble at sitting trot. I try but he trys to canter on me and its really frustrating!
I even fell off one time, do you have any tips on how to sit the trot and keep him at a slow pace for me

Thank you

:D

redape49 08-01-2011 04:22 AM

Are you riding English? If so, do you ride with a monkey strap? It's helpful when learning the sitting trot so you can pull yourself into the saddle.

HorseyCharli123 08-01-2011 04:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redape49 (Post 1119583)
Are you riding English? If so, do you ride with a monkey strap? It's helpful when learning the sitting trot so you can pull yourself into the saddle.

Yes, i ride english but the saddle doesn't have one on it

do i ask to get one put on?

wetrain17 08-01-2011 12:11 PM

You need to learn how to "open your hips" or some say, "disengage your hips" You must train your seat to move with the horse. Have you ever watched a more advanced rider just walk a horse. Their upper body stays still while their seat moves with the horse.

Here is a tip that has worked for some people. Buy/borrow one of those big exercise balls. Start by sitting on more on the edge then the middle of the ball with your knees together (remember to sit up nice and tall). Have someone hold your shoulders in the beginning so you do not move your upper body. Then start by moving your hips back and forth. Once you have mastered keeping your upper body still while moving your hips side to side, then move your hips back and forth. This will losen you up so you and follow the horses movements.