The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Any other Instructors or Riders out there with cool lesson exercises? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/any-other-instructors-riders-out-there-94079/)

folklaur 08-04-2011 02:06 PM

Any other Instructors or Riders out there with cool lesson exercises?

First of all, Hello! I've been a riding instructor for beginners, mostly young riders 5-12 or adults just starting out, since november of last year and love it. I work in a riding school with a few other instructors and while we've all shared our ideas for fun lessons, I'd love to talk to other instructors or riders with ideas for lessons.

My challenge is coming up with ways to get some of the younger riders to work on fundamentals without boring them. Kids can be so picky! They're all great with
We play games like "Boot in the Bucket" which requires riders to retrieve a bell boot from the arena rail and take it to a bucket in the middle of the arena. It's a great tool for steering, looking where you're going and making your horse/pony stop to deal with the boot. I even upgrade riders to playing this game at the trot. I also like to do work on the lunge line either with or without reins to work on balance and small obstacle courses, the kids seem to love this but doing anything every week can get boring I'm sure.

Keeping in mind that I teach no more then two at a time usually and the riders are 6-12, what are some creative things you guys have seen done in lessons? Obviously the older riders aren't fans of boot in the bucket and simon says anymore haha, so we work on other things like horsemanship patterns and breaking down gaits and such but any ideas for those riders as well would be great!

sweetwhispers 08-04-2011 10:26 PM