The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   What should I do? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/what-should-i-do-94572/)

HorseLoverHunter 08-09-2011 03:47 PM

What should I do?

5 Attachment(s)
I saw a post like the one I'm about to make and I thought it would be a good Idea to see what you think about me. The post was about what type of jumping that they should do by how they ride, so I was wondering what do you think I would be better at? Hunter/Jumpers or Show Jumping? I will probable start showing this fall/winter or next spring so I just want to know what would be better for me so I don't get to my first show expecting something different. Here are some pictures and videos from the past month.

morehandclaps 08-10-2011 11:34 AM

I am no expert, but based on what I see, I would say jumper. Because hunter is more based on the rider, jumper is only on you and your horses ability to clear the jump and time.

This may clear up in the time before you start to show, but you don't seem balanced enough. When you're trottin your hands need to be a bit more quiet and at the canter you're falling forward. It's something you will learn to not do, but at the moment it would probably be easier for you to do show jumping. You're developing really well and would be able to succeed at both, it will only take time! Also, if you end up doing mostly one or the other, I suggest at least trying out both. So if you do show jumping, try a hunter show or two so you can see what it's like. Once you become more advanced it will be more of your preference instead of style because you'll be developing yourself how you want.

If you need clearing up on any of that, feel free to ask!
(and I didn't mean to give you a critique, it was just a few things I noticed...) :]

HannahFaith 08-10-2011 11:56 AM

no one attack me for this please.