The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Frozen Semen Straws (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/frozen-semen-straws-94912/)

WVcountrygirl 08-13-2011 12:22 PM

Frozen Semen Straws

If a stallion owner sends you 5 straws of semen, is that 5 different inseminations if you choose or should you administer all 5 at once, half at a time, etc? I AM NOT BREEDING, I'm not really new to horses but I am new to all of the knowledge that comes with them & this is just one of the subjects I'm trying to learn about now (along with gaits & color genetics) :D Thanks

MississippiQueen 08-13-2011 09:28 PM

I'm surprised nobody that has looked at this post knows the answer, especially as common as AI is in the horse world :cry:

ilovemyPhillip 08-13-2011 09:38 PM

I'm also curious. I'm looking into embryo transfer and semen collection for goats (haven't studied it yet) - I bet it's similar with horses.

Avalon Equine 08-14-2011 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WVcountrygirl (Post 1135391)
If a stallion owner sends you 5 straws of semen, is that 5 different inseminations if you choose or should you administer all 5 at once, half at a time, etc? I AM NOT BREEDING, I'm not really new to horses but I am new to all of the knowledge that comes with them & this is just one of the subjects I'm trying to learn about now (along with gaits & color genetics) :D Thanks