The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   to shoe or not to shoe ? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/shoe-not-shoe-95067/)

meghanlovee11 08-15-2011 12:10 AM

to shoe or not to shoe ?

i am new to this so please bare with me(:

i have a three year old quarter horse that i rescued & i am wondering if he needs shoes . my neighbor has two middle aged horses ( a tennesee walker & a leopard appaloosa ) & they shoe theyre horses . he used to ride them with me sometimes on the weekends & sometimes in the mornings , but other than thats they are usually in the pasture . my gelding will be my first horse & i am pretty young . ive been voulenteering at a horse rescue for a very long time & i understand what im getting into .
we have a few complications at my house right now , but when we get him i will ride him daily in the pasture until he is ready to go outside of the fence , & i will take it slow, like walking around my house , then down my street ect.
i am unsure if he will need to be shod . the rescue has only one horse with corrective shoeing, but they rarely do out of the property riding .
hes never worn shoes before .
what do you guys think ?

BarrelracingArabian 08-15-2011 12:13 AM

no he should not need shoes yet or really at all thats sort of a preferance unless the hores has weak feet or is going to be riding in a rocky area or usually competeing at higher levels none of my horses have ever had shoes from arabs to mustangs to thoroughbreds.

Lightning H Ranch 08-15-2011 10:51 PM

I only shoe if I plan to trail ride the horses on uneven surfaces such as rocks. Otherwise, I leave the shoes off if they're only being ridden in the ring or are out in the pasture all the time.

Wilkinson John 08-16-2011 06:02 AM

Horses with a light muzzle or pale skin on the nose are more prone to sunburn. I have some appaloosa's that will sunburn and do it in one day so you really have to stay on top of it.