The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   to shoe or not to shoe ? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/shoe-not-shoe-95068/)

meghanlovee11 08-15-2011 01:15 AM

to shoe or not to shoe ?

i am new to this so please bare with me(:

i have a three year old quarter horse that i rescued & i am wondering if he needs shoes . my neighbor has two middle aged horses ( a tennesee walker & a leopard appaloosa ) & they shoe theyre horses . he used to ride them with me sometimes on the weekends & sometimes in the mornings , but other than thats they are usually in the pasture . my gelding will be my first horse & i am pretty young . ive been voulenteering at a horse rescue for a very long time & i understand what im getting into .
we have a few complications at my house right now , but when we get him i will ride him daily in the pasture until he is ready to go outside of the fence , & i will take it slow, like walking around my house , then down my street ect.
i am unsure if he will need to be shod . the rescue has only one horse with corrective shoeing, but they rarely do out of the property riding . so they dont bother with them.
hes never worn shoes before .
what do you guys think ?

DraftyAiresMum 08-15-2011 02:00 AM

I will tell you what my farrier told me when I asked if I should shoe my gelding. He said that we won't know until we ride on something other than arena dirt.

I would say have a farrier look at your horse's feet and determine who soft or hard they are. Some horses are naturally very tenderfooted (my friend's arab gelding, for example) and have to wear shoes even for just riding in the arena. Other horses, like my draft cross, have hard, solid feet and probably won't need shoes even going up the rockiest trails.

ScharmLily 08-15-2011 09:42 AM