The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   The History of Pure Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/history-pure-breeds-95323/)

HGEsquire 08-15-2011 08:49 AM

The History of Pure Breeds

Disclaimer: The discussion below was moved from the http://www.horseforum.com/horse-bree...reeding-94683/ thread. Thank you!
Kitten_Val

The Arabian breed is typically known as the improvement breed/blood. There is Arabian Blood in most all horses as they typically are known to be the only purebreed of horse that exisits today. There is of course those that dispute this and state the Akhal Teke is the only purebreed that exisits....so who is correct?? I am not an expert nor is there a 100% guarantee either is correct so I continue to read and learn. Thus far, based on the information I have as of todays date, my vote if I had to vote would go to the Purebred Arabian ;)

Denise Gainey

LuvMyPerlinoQH 08-15-2011 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HGEsquire (Post 1137119)
The Arabian breed is typically known as the improvement breed/blood. There is Arabian Blood in most all horses as they typically are known to be the only purebreed of horse that exisits today. There is of course those that dispute this and state the Akhal Teke is the only purebreed that exisits....so who is correct?? I am not an expert nor is there a 100% guarantee either is correct so I continue to read and learn. Thus far, based on the information I have as of todays date, my vote if I had to vote would go to the Purebred Arabian ;)

Denise Gainey

I agree the arabian is the oldest and the foundation to every saddle horse out there.

Druydess 08-15-2011 10:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LuvMyPerlinoQH (Post 1137164)
I agree the arabian is the oldest and the foundation to every saddle horse out there.

Very true... people tend to forget that fact... :wink:

bubba13 08-15-2011 10:52 PM