The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   "Trainer" teaching wrong at hating my horse but I have to keep her HELP :( (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/trainer-teaching-wrong-hating-my-horse-95906/)

Fudgelove 08-23-2011 01:57 PM

"Trainer" teaching wrong at hating my horse but I have to keep her HELP :(

Hi everyone this is sort of a strange thread but I really would like to get some opinions. Well I started riding about 2 years ago and in December got the love of my life Fudge a 16.3 QH. Well he was bought semi green without a collected head set. So my "trainer" has had me wiggle my fingers to get him to drop his head which I think is fine untill other things started happening.. She makes me yank his head in and "bit" him (putting my reins which are tight anyway behind the saddle and leaving him for 10 minutes to drop his head). I know this is wrong and get very upset because I love my boy and want him to be collected not forced. She also had me teach him to sidepass by kicking and yanking him around and telling me he is stupid because he dosent understand. I made it to round up in 4-h and have to keep her untill september. I don't want to keep this "training" up with him but I have to continue lessons with her. What sould I do? :(

IndiesaurusRex 08-23-2011 02:37 PM

Why can you not leave her? If it was me, I would drop her like a bag of steaming dog poop. Her training sounds questionable at best, downright cruel at worst.

MHFoundation Quarters 08-23-2011 03:22 PM

Unless you are contractually committed to this "trainer" don't walk away, RUN. She is setting you up to have a hard mouthed iron sided horse and become a heavy handed rider.

gigem88 08-23-2011 03:27 PM

Run away and don't look back! There are better trainers out there.

Dresden 08-23-2011 03:38 PM