The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Advice as to what Snaking Head means (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/advice-what-snaking-head-means-95991/)

Jonesey 08-24-2011 11:52 AM

Advice as to what Snaking Head means

Hi there, I have had my horse for 4 years, bought wild from Wales at 2.5 yrs. During that time she has always done a behaviour that i strongly feel is dominance, but I am not experienced enough to confirm this, which is why I want to ask you. Having googled and stuff without success. I am hoping someone here would know what it is. It is not headshaking - as I had a horse with this.
What happens is that when you put the pressure on her loose to move away from you, she snakes her head at you. Its a sort of twisting and sometimes she does it and doesn't look at you. She does it on the lunge too. Again not all the time. I am assuming its a sort of "don't tell me what to do" or "I'm having the last word" She always does as she is told, but does do this snaking - is it a protest?
I'd describe her as a confident and dominant horse, she is almost always head honcho out in the field. When she isn't and someone challenges her, she usually has a fight with that horse.
Has anyone else had this and what do you make of it?

Speed Racer 08-24-2011 11:55 AM

Yes, head snaking is a sign of displeasure, as well as trying to show dominance.

kitten_Val 08-24-2011 12:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Speed Racer (Post 1148196)
Yes, head snaking is a sign of displeasure, as well as trying to show dominance.

Unless it just chases away the flies or stretches the neck. Lol! My qh shakes her head at flies BADLY (I ended up getting long nose net and short fly mask with ears, otherwise it's impossible to ride her).