The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Stallion behaviour? (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/stallion-behaviour-96016/)

kikgi 08-24-2011 03:53 PM

Stallion behaviour?

Hello,

My question might seem odd but I’m a newbie to horses and I’d like to know if it’s true that when a stallion is about to fight with another for a mare, or when it wants to protect its position in the hierarchy or gain the leadership, then it will try to position or hold itself in a way that it seems larger?

I might just have dreamt it but I think I heard something like this.

Could you, please, be so kind as to tell me if there is such or a similar kind of behaviour in horses, and if yes, which situations it happens in and exactly what it is the stallion is doing? :think:

Thanks a lot! :-)

(P.s.: I didn’t find an appropriate subforum for the question, hence my posting it here.)

versatilityhorsetraining 05-20-2012 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kikgi (Post 1148510)
Hello,

My question might seem odd but Iím a newbie to horses and Iíd like to know if itís true that when a stallion is about to fight with another for a mare, or when it wants to protect its position in the hierarchy or gain the leadership, then it will try to position or hold itself in a way that it seems larger?

I might just have dreamt it but I think I heard something like this.

Could you, please, be so kind as to tell me if there is such or a similar kind of behaviour in horses, and if yes, which situations it happens in and exactly what it is the stallion is doing? :think:

Thanks a lot! :-)

(P.s.: I didnít find an appropriate subforum for the question, hence my posting it here.)

Actually rarely would there be a hierarchy. Young stallions get kicked out into a bachelor band, or group. An altercation would occur though when a stallion would try and take over a group of mares though.