The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Giving lessons , oh so much to learn! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/giving-lessons-oh-so-much-learn-96039/)

tinyliny 08-24-2011 06:50 PM

Giving lessons , oh so much to learn!

I have had the honor of giving some lessons in riding and ground work to a young lady lately. Today was my fourth lesson teaching her. It is really fun, but I am beginning to really appreciate trainers/teachers of riding. It's not easy to find a good place to start and then not get side tracked with so many things that come up.

I am no expert, but over the years I've picked up on SO many things. I didn't realize how many things one needs to learn when learning how to ride. So, I find myself constantly divergeing onto this or that topic during my lessons.

the main things we worked on today was moving the hrose on the ground, learning to have a feel on the rope and learning to bring up your energy in a kind of rythmic and predictable way.

I would ask her to move Mac on and she kept clicking and swinging the tail end of the rope and getting no change from Mac at all. I really had to emphasize that you must increase the energy and not stop til you get a change.

I kept reminding her, in her riding and on the ground, that if you ask for something, such as walk faster, or trot, that you must get that thing.
Always remember' "what did I ask for?" and "did he do what I asked for?"

For example, I asked her to see if she could get a bend in his jaw , a give to the rein. So she took up the rein on that side and Mac kind of "boardlike" swung his body to the left. I said, "don't release, he did not do what you asked. hold on til he gives to the rein, that is what you are asking; a give to the rein"
So, I work an getting her to keep focussed on what she wants and not giving up without getting it.