The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Finally! (aka the horse buying delima) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/finally-aka-horse-buying-delima-96410/)

Ink 08-28-2011 10:54 PM

Finally! (aka the horse buying delima)

OMG I'm finally ready to start horse shopping! I've been waiting for this since high school, wait scratch that, since I was 8 years old and took my first riding lesson (though technically I've had a horse since then). After making it through school and getting a steady job, I've finally got my budget squared away and found the perfect place to board. All I need to do now is find the perfect horse! I'm both thrilled and terrified at the same time.

We had rotten luck with horses when I was a kid, hence the reason for my parents refusal to continue to support my horse habit. And while I have plenty of experience riding over the years, I've nearly no experience with horse buying. I know this is a huge commitment and I don't want to blow it on the wrong horse. I've got a pretty solid idea of what I want, and I have all my horsey friend on the look out for me. But I'm still scared I'm going to make a mistake. I suppose I'm just gonna have to dive right into the process and hope the more experienced people around me will guide me in the right direction. I know my equine soul mate is out there somewhere, I just have to get out and find him(or her).

Oh and any tips you guys might have would be greatly appreciated as well :)

tinyliny 08-28-2011 11:38 PM

Congratulations on reaching this milestone. I think I would only say that if you have a trainer whose opinion you respect, then I would bring him/her with you to look at any serious prospect. That's number one.

And sleep on any decision, at least one night.

mystikal222 08-29-2011 06:46 AM