The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Can I register without a breeding certificate? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/can-i-register-without-breeding-certificate-96482/)

Kymbadina 08-29-2011 06:56 PM

Can I register without a breeding certificate?

I'm new to all this.. bear with me while I share my story. Last September I bought my gelding. He came with nothing but an expired coggins. Through the past year, I've learned that he's had 3 owners not including the breeder. In chronological order they will be a,b,c. Alright here goes
I did a reverse look up on the owner on his coggins( owner b) got in touch via Facebook. Asked about his his history. Was directed to owner a. Owner a bought him as a yearling from a breeder whom I know name and city. Now, previously owner a had bought a mare in foal to my geldings sire. So his half brother. She said he was a short backyard breeder essentially and had to fight something like 4 months for him to send the sire/dam info and signature to register the foal(my geldings half brother) so fast forward. She bought my gelding from him. He was skinny and in a small shed with metal and trash all around :o so based on the hassle of registering his half brothers she didn't bother registering my gelding. Now. She is sending me a copy of his half Brothers registry so I'll have the sire name.
I'm fully prepared to blow up this guys phone until I get the dams name.
Here's what I'm wondering..can I send off dam and sire name with a blood test to prove his parentage orwill that not work. :( he's a paint. Both parents are registered.
Or can I have a breeding certificate created now? He's 13... I've never registered a horse. I k ow I'm looking at $500 to register..I don't care. I just want to know if its possible to get him registered.
Posted via Mobile Device

Jamzimm101987 08-29-2011 07:02 PM