The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Nipping/discipline (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/nipping-discipline-9652/)

Beena 06-03-2008 12:23 PM

Nipping/discipline

How do you guys dicsipline a nipping horse?
Back in the day I would just give my old gal a swat in the nose... but she was pretty much an angel with no hangups...
Since my new mare is headshy and has past trauma, I don't want to swat her anywhere in the face... and I don't know if i like the idea anyways. How about getting a rope halter and giving her a good tug and a NO! when she does it? or are there any techniques that you like?

p.s. I know this is a silly questions and makes me sound like a complete novice... I just want to be smart and make the right moves with this horse.

americancowgurl31391 06-03-2008 12:26 PM

Re: Nipping/discipline

Well yeah the rope halter would work but could also make her more headshy. If you guys are in the arena or round pen, everytime she attempts you could make her work. Sounds like she needs some ground manners but then again look at her past. Poor baby

kickshaw 06-03-2008 12:32 PM

i just point my finger at them and give them a really mean look....they understand 100%

kitten_Val 06-03-2008 12:41 PM

Smacking a headshy horse is really bad idea, I certainly agree with you on that. You can either back her up every time she does it like a punishment or (I believe John Lyons suggested that) rub her muzzle with some energy (just kinda express your love too much :) ).

PoptartShop 06-03-2008 01:22 PM

Hmm, how about a tap on the neck? ;) But then again, you don't wanna make her more afraid. :D
I think backing her up is a good idea.

JustDressageIt 06-03-2008 01:26 PM

I say give her a good smack on the chest/shoulder.

Dumas'_Grrrl 06-03-2008 01:35 PM