The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Hunter /Jumper (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/hunter-jumper-9712/)

chasin the dream 06-04-2008 12:57 PM

Hunter /Jumper

i know this is in the english not jumper forum but...i was wondering why people call it hunter/ jumper.i know hunter is based on your horses form and all that stuff and jumper is based on how fast you can complete a course and how many faults you have.but my question is...if they are 2 different things then why is it called hunter/jumper.not 2 different categories? and then...is equitation classes a part of the whole thing too? im kind of new to english you can say and i want to do jumpers and equitation as far as i know about them.can anyone explain a bit better? so when you go to a show. and i was also wondering, is hunter jumps a little more cross countryish..like i said im kind of new.lmao.i am an expert at western events.haha...also, is there a difference between hunters and working hunters?

chasin the dream 06-04-2008 02:58 PM

Anyone?????

appylover31803 06-04-2008 03:01 PM

I googled it and i didnt find any useful information, just hunter jumper organizations. I'm sure to find out too

upnover 06-04-2008 06:43 PM

Haha, that's a difficult question to explain. Even though they're different styles its a "genre" that goes together that's separate then say, eventing or the AQHA stuff. The main governing organization that runs it all is USEF and most shows (with the exception of some schooling shows) will follow their rules. The H/J shows will almost always have hunters, equitation, and jumper classes... and nothing else. I don't know many people who show regularly in the HJ world who show in other "genres". Once you go to HJ shows there is a big difference between the hunters and the jumpers and you'll think of it as 2 separate worlds there. :)