The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Numbers of female riders (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/numbers-female-riders-97391/)

its lbs not miles 09-08-2011 11:12 AM

Numbers of female riders

About a year ago a (younger) friend of mine made a statement to the effect that I must have been one of the few boys riding horses when I started riding.
Actually it was quite the reverse. When I started riding there were more boys than girls mounting up at the stable. Initially at a rate of 3 to 1 (2 girls and 6 boys) and the 2 girls were amoung the first 4 to quit.
Today, as my friend so astutely pointed out, riding horses has become a decidedly female past time. I thought about the times I had visited area stables to watch friends take lessons or just watch them ride and I realized that she was right. It was rare to find a singe boy, but plenty of girls. Of the adults there are some males, but we are still significantly out numbered by the females. (Not that I'm complaining. As a single male I'll never complain about having more females to ride with :) )

I was just wondering what brought about this change over the past few decades? Use to be that girls loved horses and the idea of riding, but weren't too keen on actually getting on them. Todays the boys just don't seem to be interested and the girls are riding all over.

Just wanted to throw this out there and see if anyone knew of something being put in the water, or a meteor shower that deposited a dust cloud in the atmosphere or perhaps some relatively recent mutation of the male genetics that has caused a, what to me seems like a reasonably dramatic, drop in the number of males really interested in riding horses.

BTW: Keep riding girls. The boys that do ride will NEVER complain about being in the minority :)

DrumRunner 09-08-2011 11:19 AM