The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Equine Assisted Therapy (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/equine-assisted-therapy-97700/)

Draco 09-12-2011 12:21 AM

Equine Assisted Therapy

So about a month ago I had was wondering what I wanted to do once I got out of high school since I am a senior this year and it came to me that my dream job would be working at a camp or farm that was based on EAT.
The more I research, the more excited I become. I've found colleges that have majors and minors for animal and human relations and I've decided that I want to major in psychology (I've always been interesting in majoring in this since I was a freshman.)

The main reasons I'm posting this is if anyone is in this field or knows how realistic this is as a job. There is alot of information of the internet and it seems like there is many different camps for abused or at risk youth.

thesilverspear 09-12-2011 06:58 AM

After I finished my undergraduate degree I took a year out of academics, and worked as a horse handler for an Equine Assisted Psychotherapy program and also as a head camp counselor for the summer horse camp run by said EAP program. Some of the kids at the camp were just your standard horse crazy kids, but others had been sent on recommendations from Social Services. So it was of a slightly more therapeutic bent than your average horse camp, as my two bosses were PhD psychologists.

There are *some* universities which offer a bit of training in EAP. I know Naropa University in Boulder, CO includes, as part of its psych degree, courses in equine/wilderness therapy. I'm sure there are others around. Failing that, you may at some point be able to get a job like the one I had, handling the horse during sessions or working at a camp. In the latter, I taught riding and general horsemanship skills as you would at any camp and if a kid freaked out, my boss stepped in to deal with it.