The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   I learned my lesson (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/i-learned-my-lesson-99275/)

SRich 09-30-2011 07:35 AM

I learned my lesson

I had a riding lesson on Wednesday and it was probably the best lesson I've ever had. I'm a beginner rider and the last few lessons I've been working on picking the correct diagonal while posting trot. I was proud of myself because I kept picking the correct one and only picked the wrong one a couple of times.

We were in an outdoor arena that had four small round pen type things in it. My instructor showed me a cloverleaf pattern and I trotted that for a little bit on the correct diagonal. Then I got to canter the pattern.

One of the things that I've always had to work on was my focus. I seem to look everywhere other than where I'm going. That's why we were doing this exercise. So I was cantering and coming down the center of the arena. I was supposed to turn left and go around one of the round pens but I wasn't focused and was just looking straight ahead. I was heading towards the entrance/exit; a big log. I tried to turn, but it was too late and the horse jumped the log.

I didn't come off and I managed to somehow dodge the horn. I cut my finger because I must've grabbed the horn or something. I also must've squeezed tight with my legs, because I have huge bruises along the insides of them.