The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Falling Off Help? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/falling-off-help-9944/)

HorseLuva15 06-09-2008 04:44 PM

Falling Off Help?

Ok, so I have been riding for about 3 years and I have never fallen off. The reason: Because I have these extremely long legs ( I am 5 9 , and I have a short waist and looong legs). So because of this, I stay on. I have come so close to falling off of my adorable 16 2 tb, but my legs save me. Well, I am going xc this year, and I mean, I am going to have to fall off sometime?! right? :P

So - any help, what were your *first falling off stories* - love to hear them, and any tips on what to do when a very tall teen falls off a somewhat tall horse? lol, thanks! :lol:

moomoo 06-09-2008 05:13 PM

All I can say is, get back on :D immediately :wink: :P

and try not to land on your head :lol:

HorseLuva15 06-09-2008 05:31 PM

LOL :P Thanks - I will try to remember, when in mid air, not to land on my head! LOL thanks!

PoptartShop 06-09-2008 05:42 PM

LOL I always get back on after I fall...too addicted to riding I guess? lol! :lol: If you do fall, just get back on. Shows your confidence!

Vidaloco 06-09-2008 05:44 PM

The only advise I can give is WEAR A HELMET!
I know they look silly but so does drool running down your chin after a head injury :lol:

JustDressageIt 06-09-2008 08:41 PM

My first fall was when I was 4. I was cantering for the first time and a dog ran up to the arena door, barked, and spooked the horse I was on. The horse literally stopped on a dime (didn't balk or buck or anything, just stopped) and off I came.
I must ahve a gazillion falls under my belt now though.... haha

sempre_cantando 06-09-2008 09:27 PM