The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   Thoughts on blankets w/Hoods (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/thoughts-blankets-w-hoods-99912/)

MySerenity 10-08-2011 12:47 PM

Thoughts on blankets w/Hoods

I've never used a hood before but this winter I will be trying to keep the coat under control for winter lessons/riding. Do I just want to get a hood because I see other horses with them? Are they really necessary? Do you just use them for when it's really cold or do the horses wear them all winter?

I'm ordering blankets for the minis so while I'm ordering I thought I should get a hood for my Mare now if I was going to at all.

My horse is stalled in a heated barn at night (heavy blankets come off) and out in turnout during the day. If it's really, really cold out the BO will keep them in. I have a midweight blanket and a liner for some flexibility.

Last winter it took me over an hour to cool her off after a lesson but she wasn't blanketed at all then.

Thanks!

tina298 10-08-2011 05:03 PM

hi, i have just bought 2 mediumweight rugs with hoods for my 6 month old and 18 month old fillys, they will be wearing them when it gets abit colder, right upto when it starts to get warm again, they are out 24/7 not stabled, only trees for shelter, i prefer these rugs when there out alday and night.:D

Arksly 10-08-2011 05:09 PM

I only started using a hood last year because we decided to clip the underside of Jesse's neck so he could cool off faster. If you don't clip his neck at all I don't think they are really neccessary.

wild_spot 10-08-2011 05:19 PM

By hood to you mean neck cover, or face cover?

If you mean just a neck cover, all my horses have 'combos' which is a ruck + neck cover. They are turned out 24/7 all winter in a paddock without much shelter.

If you are talking about a face cover - I would never leave one on a paddocked horse. Too dangerous.

MySerenity 10-09-2011 09:57 AM