The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Spooky horses... What to do?

3K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Nya 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone :)
So, I've been riding this sweet 7yr old gelding for three months, very often, and I fell in love with him :) he was easy, and well-behaved. I don't know what happened then, but he started spooking and bolting for apparently nothing, and there's no way you can stay on the saddle when he gets scared. When I got a cranial trauma, I sadly decided not to mount him anymore.

My instructor gave me another horse, quite spooky aswell. I know many other horses there are spooky, but today, when all my hopes were gone (after almost fell again for a sudden spook-and-bolt) I was told to try riding a stallion they have there.

He was very calm and quiet, and I felt like I could focus on jumps and exercise again, so my first thought was -okay, I'll keep riding this one- but now, I am here to ask you.. Can a stallion be safe? What would you do in my shoes? I know almost nothing about stallions..I don't know, spooky horses take the pleasure of riding away from me.. I need advice :(
Posted via Mobile Device

#2 ·
Don't be afraid of him *because* he is a stallion. Stallions get to learn jobs like any other and many are exceptional at their jobs. If your instructor feels he is good for the job, then ride him. Don't let him get away with anything, but don't pick a fight. Just ride. Use it to your advantage as a confidence boost. Be cocky. You are riding a STALLION! WHOO! Yeah! You rock, sistah! You got this!