The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw him in the auction and thought he was gorgeous; plus my mum was interested in getting an Arab. She wasn't as keen as I was on him though.

Anyway, I wanted to practice training my eye to notice confirmation faults, and he had the best photo, although it is tilted a bit. I know he's probably too young to tell for sure, but I just wanted to see if there's anything obvious I'm missing.

His back looks a bit dippy and his butt a bit high, although I think maybe that's just lack of muscle because Ninja had the same thing when I first had him. Ninja is still a bit butt high though, so maybe that's a confirmation thing? And he's not putting his weight on the near hind leg, would that be a red flag if you were interested in buying him? Or is it just him about to step off?

Any insight appreciated! Sorry if what I said is way off, as I said I'm not good at seeing confirmation yet :D

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
12,654 Posts
Looks under two or just turned. At this age they have close to all of their height and are just working on getting the last of that growth that may or may not even them out and then filling out and maturing. Looks to be be just stretching out that back leg. More would look to that mouth. Looks like bottom jaw is longer than top. Would want more pictures before I'd consider an in person.

·
Banned
2,431 Posts
I think the mouth is okay. It's the dark tree line next to the nose vs. the light utility pole next to the chin that results in a bit of an illusion unless you push your nose onto the screen and squint hard.

·
Registered
943 Posts