The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

After a bit of advice. Yesterday I visited a horse who I am considering taking on part loan, he's a 21 year, 15,3 Danish warmblood, real beautiful boy. Here's my dilemma, I have been riding again for the past 8 months since giving up as a child, I've been having weekly riding lessons on very safe riding school horses. So I went to visit the new horse yesterday, the owner had assured me that he was an old school master very safe to ride and would be perfect to bring on my riding. After a chat about the ins and outs of the loan she asked if I wanted to ride him to get a feel of him, which I did. We took him into the school where I walked, trot and cantered him, all seemed to be going well, even though he's a lot more forward to the horses I'm used to riding. Anyway I decided to take him for one last trot where he flew into canter, which then proceeded into a buckaroo session of about 8 in a row, I managed to sit most of them but then lost my balance and hit the deck. Now here's my question, should I still consider him for part loan? My worry is because I'm used to riding school horses my riding may not be strong enough for him, although the owner assures me that it was totally out of character and he's usually and old gentleman. She said she had just clipped him so he might of been a bit fresh. We have agreed for me to go and spend a day with them both next week and she did say that she would be haspy to be there whilst I rode him in the school whilst me and horse get to know each other. So what should I do? Just sticking to the riding school does not get me used to a more forward horse but am I ready for a stronger horse, if I don't ride different horses I will never learn.

Any help appreciated.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts