The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m fairly new to horses, and I regularly put my boyfriends horse out in the pasture in the morning and bring him in at night. I’ve never had problems until yesterday. Two days now I’ve led him through the service door to go outside, with myself in front of him because the doorway is too small to be right next to him and both days now he’s gotten aggressive and pushed past me knocking me to the ground to get outside. He’s never shown me this type of behavior and I am afraid for my safety at this point and unsure what to do. Any advice would be helpful. He does not have the best ground manners, and gets hot from time to time. (He was a gelded late as he was used for breeding.)

·
Registered
10,602 Posts
All horses will take advantage of a situation to be the boss. Some take a long time, others sense it quickly and waste no time seizing the moment.

The behavior needs stopped “yesterday” And it can be stopped quickly provided you are not a timid person.

I have a horse that used to try and rush the gate but an elbow to the center of his chest, while I backed into him (as if an alpha horse were kicking him) put a stop to it.

I am only 5’2” and my horse is 16.1H so you don’t have to be a big person to get the point across, you just have to mean business.

If you don’t elbow him now, then yes, you are correct, you are going to get hurt. Horses as a rule do not want to run over humans, but if your BF’s horse is so disrespectful as to mow you down, you need to muster up some courage and get after him.

My horse was never that bad. Had he been, I would have already had a buggy whip waiting at the gate and I would have lit his hind end up with it. This kind of behavior deserves 30 very ugly seconds of I am going to kill you and I don’t care who dislikes that mindset:)

·
Registered
1,950 Posts