The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This summer I stepped back into the world of horse riding. I am still learning (and probably always will be). I currently ride around 4 days a week on my friend's horse. She is a rescue TB cross that likes to 'go'. When she doesn't get her way she likes to toss her head and occasionally kick out. She has tossed my friend before but has been decent with me. I never ride alone and she is always there giving me tips on how to get better control, etc.

So, here's the rub. I was offered to be able to take over the horse's cost and have her as my own BUT she doesn't have the capabilities that I am looking for. I am interested in trail and endurance rides but mainly just pleasure riding as often as I can. Because of this I have been looking online for a better fit. That's when I stumbled across Sophie. She is a gorgeous Quarab that was foaled in May 2003. She was listed for a while and then taken down so I assumed that she was sold. Low and behold she is back!

Here is her dreamhorse.com page: http://www.dreamhorse.com/show_horse.php?form_horse_id=1425073&share_this=Y

There is even a video on there of her. *sigh*

Here's the kicker though: "She needs a patient, experienced handler / rider, who is capable of focusing her energy on whatever task is at hand."

Am I crazy for wanting this horse? Should I take a step back and look for something that is a better match for my skillset?

·
Registered
16,508 Posts
Am I crazy for wanting this horse? Should I take a step back and look for something that is a better match for my skillset?
Yes and yes.

Too many people take on a horse who's too much for them and that's not fair to the horse. They wind up never being ridden, or continuously sold down the road.