The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I attempted something I’ve never done before. I was fiddling around in the barn, and the horse was being nosy.

I put a bit of string around her neck and hopped on board. We walked around the barn once and did a few small circles, left and right. No problems. She turns left easier than right, but she’s the same under tack.

Skippy was still hanging around when I finished fiddling around in the barn.

I hopped back on with the neck string, and let her carry me from the barn to the pasture gate, maybe 300 meters.

She occasionally needed a bit of tugging on the string, and some insistence with the inside heel on the turns.

I dismounted, and gave her some scratches on the withers, neck, and face. Then, she turned and cantered off to rejoin her buddies , the cows.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,173 Posts
She's a sweet little horse and seems to enjoy being with you, that's great and says a lot about how you handle and work with her.
Are you getting the other mare that you were looking at? I wonder if she will be as sweet

·
Registered
23,642 Posts
That has got to be one of the best feelings!!

I did pretty much the same with my (then) 3.5 yo mare, decided out of the blue to use her leadrope around her neck in the field - we did w/t/c, simple changes.. it was an amazing feeling of connectedness and partnership :)

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
She's a sweet little horse and seems to enjoy being with you, that's great and says a lot about how you handle and work with her.
Are you getting the other mare that you were looking at? I wonder if she will be as sweet
I suspect most of that is that she knows I keep the feed in the barn. Lol. But she was too young for much riding when I first got her. So we spent a lot of time grooming, tending feet, leading, and ground driving.