The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone suggest some jobs that deal with working with or around animals? I am going to look into Vet Tech and into the Zoo careers but I don't really know what other options are out there besides those. If you have any good links, advice or experience please share.

I am currently majoring in Business Administration but I really don’t think this is the right path for me. I enjoy learning business and it comes easy to me but I am not so sure that is what I want to do the rest of my life. I really enjoy working with and being around animals.

Do you think I should stick with the business degree and use that to get an animal related job?

Ugh... Decisions, Decisions

·
Premium Member
16,046 Posts
You will earn more money in business than with animals!

All I can think that might have some connection is to work at admin in a large animal industry such as a large ranch/stables/vets.

·
Registered
2,269 Posts
I have marched around the zoo field. I would say if you are serious about zoo animals find a place to volunteer. This place should be AZA certified. The AZA (American Zoo Association) has a website and job posting. They usually hire from people who have awesome references from people they know or people who have been volunteering at the zoo for at least 1-2 years. A degree means less than who you know in the zoo world.

In general, yes you will earn more money in business than with animals. Unless you decide to work with research animals in a care/tech setting. The species will dictate how much you make there along with the type of institution.

I would volunteer at a veterinary practice before you decide to pursue a new degree. I have seen a number of people who have not worked in the field get burned out or not finish school because they did not understand the job.