The Horse Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reading the forum for a little while but I don't think I've ever posted. I'm an adult beginner looking for a place in eastern MA to take lessons. Until a few months ago, I was taking a weekly lesson. I'd like to get back to it, and I'm looking for the closest thing I can find to word-of-mouth recommendations from anyone here who might be from the greater Boston area.

I'm looking for a low-key kind of place that is genuinely adult-friendly and isn't going to try to pressure me into buying a horse before I'm ready or showing when I'm not interested. Discipline is less of a priority than good instruction. South shore area would be best. (I'm not on Facebook, so while I think there are local Facebook groups that might be a good place to post, it's not an option for me.) Thanks for any help.

Registered
Tagging @IRideaHippogriff and @redbadger who might have some Eastern MA ideas, though I don't recall exactly where they are in relationship to Boston. I'm in southern VT and more familiar with Western MA. Good luck getting back into riding! Here's hoping for an early spring 馃惔

Registered
Other than FB, an option would be to join whatever is the closest riding club to you. I think the way to find these most easily is in one of the advertising magazines for New England usually found tack and feed stores.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies and tagging MA people. @Avna, what is a riding club? It sounds like a dense question to ask, but is it simply a group for horse owners who want to ride together? (I'm assuming you don't mean a hunt club.) Everything I've experienced in my few years of weekly lessons mainly exposed me to people who board their horses and generally stick to within that barn community--doing small shows, or maybe a couple people riding down the road together.

Registered