The Horse Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just started western lessons and I am a SUPER beginner rider. I'm a very nervous rider as well.
The first lesson went decently I think. I had fun and really wanted to go again. The second lesson didn't go as well. I found it extremely difficult to focus on everything all at once. (Posting, keeping heels down, not holding onto the horn for dear life, keeping straight up, keeping my horse jogging the right speed or jogging at all and trying to keep her on the rail) It was really overwhelming and I ended up going home pretty discouraged. I can't for the life of me keep my feet right. That's the hardest part for me, I think.

So I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice on this. Other than practice, of course. I know the more I do it the better I will get!

·
Registered
654 Posts
I feel it is always difficult to give advice to someone taking lessons because what one may say could contradict what the trainer says. Having said that, it looks like you're taking on too much at once. We don't train horses that way. We go one step at a time and build on it. If I were training riders, I'll do it the same way. Forget the jog until you have the walk, etc. Work on your balance at a walk and go from there. Also, the heels down thing, the biggest myth in horseback riding, IMO. Good luck.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Practice makes perfect, as they say. If you’re only on your second lesson, you’re being WAY too hard on yourself!

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,001 Posts
Relax and try to enjoy the process! Your instructor is telling you what to try to do, so that you learn things the correct way, but doesn't expect you to actually be able to do all of it yet. Just do your best and keep at it!

·
Registered
54 Posts