The Horse Forum banner

Are gaited horses more prone to lameness

704 27
Hi,
I am an Animal Sciences student (pursing a Molecular Genetics minor) with an interest in genetic health and conformational health in animals (such as arthritis in Scottish Fold Cats, deafness in white ferrets, etc). I also love horses and I'm currently taking an Equine class.

While learning about Ambling gaits (fox trot, "paso", rack, running walk, slow gait, tolt) I came up with the thought, since we are genetically selecting for a mutation that changes movement and, thus, balance and how they are using their muscles, joints, etc, does this lead to increased lameness or other health problems? What about pacing (since it is a lateral gait)? Or Peruvian Paso Finos with their swinging leg motion?
My teacher said trotting is the most efficient gait for horses, and if we are selecting for horses that don't trot, would this cause discomfort?

I asked my teacher and tried researching it but couldn't find any studies or data on it. Does anyone have any experience?

This is not meant to look down on any breed of horse, genetic health just fascinates me!

Thank you in advance!
Reactions: elGatGordo
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
Interesting topic. I have no science on this. From what I have seen of people riding gaited horses they seem no more prone to lameness than a horse of standard movement. Perhaps it is to do with muscle fitness, the muscles we work become stronger. And horses bred to gait do it naturally, they do not have to be taught . . so where did it start?

I find it interesting about trotting being the most efficient gait for horses. When working for strength a good exercise is to trot uphill. The horse will often try to canter because it is less strenuous for him. I read (or was told) that the lope that western riders specialize in is a pace a horse can keep up all day (meaning for long stretches of time) surely that would make it a very efficient gait.