The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There are two bad habits that I am currently trying to work on.

One of the habits is looking where I am going or the lack thereof. I often catch myself "admiring my horse" instead of looking where I am going. Although I am aware of the saying, "where you are looking is where you'll end up", I still tend to look down instead of up.

The other habit had to do with my shoulders; my shoulders are disgusting. I round my shoulders and hollow my chest. When I was taking lessons, that was something that my instructors often had to remind me of, in conjunction to "head upppp! look where you're going!" Just to clarify, I'm not slouching or doing that fetal position thing - just rounded shoulders.

I've had these habits since I started riding; as they say, "old habits die hard." Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I also tend to slouch my shoulders, and to correct this I would stick a crop behind my back and through the crooks of my elbows. I would keep it there while my horse walked and when we were ready to trot I would remove it. This really helps to stretch those shoulders out and puts you in a good position to start your ride. If you notice slouching in the middle of your ride, walk and put the crop back for just a few minutes.

·
Banned
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Interesting. I've heard of that, but I wasn't sure if people actually did that or if it actually worked. I may try that on my next ride. Thanks.

Reactions: boots

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
Do you ride wearing a helmet? If so, buy yourself a cheap headlamp and place it around your helmet so the light is sitting in the middle of the visor. You will be amazed how such a seemingly small weight there will make you very aware of exactly where your eyes are looking! [I found this out when I started using a helmetcam..]

·
Banned
117 Posts